For years, Corvette owners in some states have had to ruin the aerodynamics, engine cooling, and overall look by attaching a front license plate.
Some relief could be on the way in North Dakota, according to a story we found on valleynewslive.com.
But the bad news is that the way a new law is currently proposed, only a few Corvettes would be eligible.
The new proposal would exempt any two-seater car that is worth more than $110,000 from having to use a front license plate.
Sounds good on paper, but that means unless you happen to be one of the lucky folks who have a new ZR1 or a super-loaded Z06, you’re still stuck with doing what Corvette enthusiast Owen Michelson of North Dakota has to do to comply with the law when driving his 2019 Admiral Blue Grand Sport coupe.
That is, get down on the garage floor and crawl around to attach a license plate to the front of your car. In Michelson’s case, the tag “slides up underneath, pushes in and locks in, and usually it scrapes on every curb and things like that,” Michelson says.
Since he wants to be sure he’s legal when driving his pride and joy, he doesn’t have any choice since his Grand Sport, like most new Corvettes, didn’t list for anywhere near the cutoff of $110,000.
“I don’t want to be stopped for something as simple as not having a front license plate,” he says.
Michelson believes the proposed change in the law doesn’t go far enough and thinks all vehicles should be exempt from the front license plate rule.
“If you’re meeting a car at night, I don’t even know how you can even see a front license plate if it flashes by,” he said.
According to valleynewslive.com, 19 states currently require only a rear license plate for all vehicles.
1967 Corvette Owner Goes to Court Over a Canadian Corvette with the Identical VIN
Chevy Tells 2015 Corvette Owners Not to Use the PDR’s Valet Mode Over Legal Concerns
Despite Strong Support, NY Governor Cuomo Vetoes Non-Profit Classic Car Raffle Bill